Blue Jay Bar

Return to Off Topic

Blue Jay Bar

Postby Polyfro » Tue Jun 06, 2017 2:04 pm

...is in trouble with the liquor commission again. Sounds like they've got one last chance to curb underage drinking or they're out of business. Kinda amazing that the place has survived as long as it has; they barely (and I do mean barely) carded anyone when I was a student, and that was 20 years ago.

On a side note, I found the piece on the complexity of fake ID's you can get now to be fascinating. I remember when a dude with a laminating machine and a nice printer in Swanson Hall made them for everyone back in the day.

Omaha World Herald wrote:“All of us are tired of hearing about the problems there,” said Bob Batt of Omaha, chairman of the commission. “If more problems do arise, they will be dealt with harshly.”

(snip)

Batt and others on the commission said Tuesday that they get more complaints about minors drinking at the Blue Jay Bar than the strip of college bars on O Street in Lincoln, near the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus.

“I’ve been stopped by five separate mothers who’ve begged me to shut you down,” said Batt, retired vice president of the Nebraska Furniture Mart, to Stapleton.

http://www.omaha.com/news/metro/nebrask ... 965e0.html
#GoJays
Polyfro

Re: Blue Jay Bar

Postby cujaysfan » Tue Jun 06, 2017 2:26 pm

on the one hand - it is surprising/impressive that it has survived this long in spite of long standing shenanigans

on the other - do people really have nothing better to do than bitch about college kids having some fun at a place that is 200 yards from campus and everyone who is underage walks to and from? it's not like anyone is bothering the (nonexistent) neighbors over there

it'd be a shame if the jay got shuttered. it's every bit the institution and part of being a Jay that mass at st johns, ice cream at ted and wallys, and bronco burger is.
cujaysfan

Postby blueblood » Tue Jun 06, 2017 2:43 pm

First the Phi Psi's and now this? WTF